Gingrbread cookies - BDSM style

Christmas Spirit, New Year’s Prospects


Gingrbread cookies - BDSM style
gingerbread cookies – BDSM style

It has been a shameful long time since I last published a blog post. I feel sorry for my loyal readers, who kept checking this website hoping that my witty fingers would come up with a new juicy entry.

Truth is, I am experiencing a bit of a writer’s block combined with an actual freelance job as a correspondent, which makes my writings almost always travel-related.

I still love writing, I enjoy it as much as always, but I felt that none of the things I had in mind were good enough to be shared here.

I first went through a rather gloomy moment: two very important people hurt me so much I still do not know if I will ever be able to see them as the important people they used to be. At the same time, some wonderfully surprising things happened, putting a smile on my face despite what I was going through.

Life is full of unexpected twists, surprises, and sometimes, unfortunately, delusions. It is up to us to find the silver lining in what happens to us – and I always try. I am not sure I actually always succeed, but I certainly try.

Left with a hurt soul and a confused mind, I started looking at what’s around me with a different perspective, to see what I had been missing.

I visited my family in Italy, I did not tell them what had happened, and I simply spent time away from everything.

I went to Dublin with two friends. We danced, we drank, and I allowed myself to let go some strains and make the most out of what I was experiencing.

Some lose themselves when they travel, instead, I like to find myself in places I had no idea I could find myself – like an old, dirty, and definitely smelly punk-rock pub in the Temple Bar area.

On the very same night I came back from my international wonderings, I received a surprise. The day after, another one.

Since then, I started seeing my life in the Netherlands more as a countdown than as a normal staying.

Living in the same country for three years can trigger people to define that place “home”, but as the proverb says, home is where the heart is. And so be it.

This will be my last winter in this country, and I decided to embrace it fiercely and fearlessly.

As soon as December started, I found in my heart the strength to face same of my fears, and eventually begin a journey towards forgiveness.

I may be the only one out of three who wishes to make things right once and for all, but it’s Christmas time, and on Christmas we tell the truth.

The prospects for the New Year are still partially unknown, but this very last December in Holland has the potential to function as a full stop or as a comma in my life.

F.

Leave a Reply

