I’m Back.


I created this website years ago. I don’t even want to think of what I first called it.

When I got around to properly use it, it was late 2011/early 2012. I started blogging because I had applied for a blogger position at the Erasmus University Rotterdam and I didn’t get it. I was annoyed and decided to “teach them a lesson” by starting something with a broader readership.

As stubborn as I am, I ended up succeeding. “Of course you did” – would say my friend Elena, who praises my stubbornness whenever she gets the chance.

Blogging became an increasingly important part of my days in the Netherlands, being something I would do almost every day. I attracted a readership of thousands of people from every corner of the world.

I stopped working on this blog because of two reasons: I didn’t have time for it, and I “outgrew” it.

The last significant contribution I made was when the How I Met Your Mother finale was aired, back in spring of 2014. Looking back at it, it seems like that single episode turned out to have much more of a symbolic significance that I thought it had at the time.

My life was completely revolutionised.

I finished my quantitative thesis, creating a fresh coding method.Β I moved to London. Five days in the country, I met someone who turned my life around. I attended and completed a Master course. I worked for the BBC, Penguin Random House, and I’m now at an international radio station.

What now? Why now?

I don’t know. I am lost. Oh, I am so lost.

For a moment I had it all: the right country, the right job, the right man.

It was so perfect, I started freaking out. Commitment, I discovered, is not easy. Not to a country, not to a job, not to a man – regardless of how much you love them.

So, I am back. Back to figure it all out again. I know what I love, I just need to know if it’s also what I want.

Suggestions (and encouraging replies to this post) are welcome.

F.

Leave a Reply

